How Do I Erase My History ?
Erasing your internet history - as many regretful web surfers have found out is not as simple as deleting your history through your internet explorer. Everything you do on your computer leaves footprints that make it possible for another person to see what you have been doing online as well as any files you have been viewing directly on your system.
This is why it’s becoming more and more important for some companies to keep your privacy and safety of utmost importance, especially in the gambling sector. For example, when you play free slots Cleopatra at Cleopatra.Games. These online casinos use the latest online best practices to keep your credentials safe, however there are still some things you can do yourself.
In this article, I will show you how to erase your primary internet history, and then we'll go on to discuss how to actually scrub your computer clean of any evidence that is buried deep within your file structure system.
How to Delete Your Basic Surfing History
Deleting your basic history is a relatively simple task that you can do with a few clicks - but keep in mind that evidence of your tracks is stored in numerous areas of your computer - and that although are not as easy to access by a novice computer user, never the less are just sitting there for a person to see if they know where to look.
The good news is that you can easily delete your history by the specific site visited, by date visited or even the specific page of a website. To do this, simply click on your history tab in your internet explorer. You can find it at the top of your browser window under the button that looks like a little swirling green arrow ( located beside your FAVORITES button at the top of your screen ). The history window will open up on the side of your screen where your favorite bookmarks were. You can view this history in a variety of formats by clicking the VIEW tab including by date, by most visited, by site and by order visited today. By clicking on the specific view you want, you can then get a better picture of what your history contains.
To delete your history, you can delete any item simply by highlighting it with your mouse and then either pressing the delete key on your keyboard or you can right click your mouse and select delete. For example, if you want to delete an entire day's history, simply highlight the day you want to delete by clicking on it and then press delete.
If you only want to delete a certain website or page, then you will need to select " By Site " under the VIEW tab. Find the site on the list, highlight it, and then delete it. You can also delete just a specific page on the site you were at by double clicking on the website you want. The history list will expand and you can then see each individual page that is available to delete.
Understanding How Your History is Tracked by Your Computer
Lets say you want to delete a website you were at in your history from anyone with prying eyes. Using the above technique, you can eliminate the specific site or surfing session from the history folder with little effort. The problem is, the residue from your history is contained in more then two dozen other areas on your computer and can be very difficult to remove without some serious knowledge of what you are doing.
When you visit a webpage, your visit is then recorded in your internet history as we discussed above. Any graphics or pictures on the site are stored along with any cookies that were set on your computer - and these are not cleared when you delete your history items as shown above. On top of this documentation, your visit also places data in several other folders including your temporary folder, your auto complete/fill folder, your cache folder, your internet run history folder, you address bar history and several sub folders called index.dat which are partitions of your temporary history files. In addition, your search history and your recycle bin all can contain evidence of where and what sites you were viewing.
The scope of cleaning these areas is well outside the scope of this article, and the truth is, the only real way to delete your entire history is to use a software application that is engineered to properly clean your system. The fact is, it is much easier to look at another person's history then it is to effectively erase it. In particular, if you are using a computer at work for other things then work, any IT or tech person will easily be able to bring up a detailed history of your viewing habits if you don't use an erasing application.